<< Back

Senator John Albers Reinstated as Chairman of the Senate Public Safety Committee

Thursday, January 12, 2023

Senator John Albers (R – Roswell) was reinstated as Chairman of the Senate Committee on Public Safety for the 2023 Legislative Session. The Senate Committee on Assignments, chaired by Lt. Governor Burt Jones, is responsible for assigning the Senate body to committees.

The Senate Committee on Public Safety oversees legislation related to the security and safety of Georgia’s citizens. Additionally, the committee considers legislation related to the licensing of drivers and safety on state roads.

“I am honored to return as Chairman for the Senate Committee on Public Safety,” said Sen. Albers. “I want to thank Lt. Governor Burt Jones and the Committee on Assignments for their diligent efforts in assigning committees. I look forward to working with my colleagues in ensuring Georgian’s public safety is prioritized.”

In addition, Sen. Albers was appointed to serve as a member of the following Senate Committees:

 Vice Chairman – Finance
 Subcommittee Chairman – Appropriations
 Rules
 Regulated Industries and Utilities
 Government Oversight


Sen. John Albers serves as Chairman of the Public Safety Committee. He represents the 56th Senate District which includes portions of Cherokee, Cobb and North Fulton counties. He may be reached at his office at 404.463.8055 or by email at [email protected].